EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW: Definitely scary but going to be fun – Bringer

Courtesy of Red Bull Media Service Team

2019 Red Bull Rookie of the Year excited by Crankworx Rotorua wildcard.

Frenchman Timothé Bringer is looking forward to taking on the world’s best MTB slopestylers when he lines up alongside them as a wildcard at the 2020 Crankworx stop in Rotorua, New Zealand.

The 2019 FMB World Tour season is now over with 21-year-old rider Bringer crowned the 2019 Red Bull Rookie of the Year for his breakthrough MTB performances.

He competed in the USA, Austria, Canada, Spain and Germany, with his best result being a fourth-place finish at the Gold level event O’Marisquino in Vigo, Spain where he finished ahead of some elite slopestyle riders like Nicholi Rogatkin (USA) and Lukas Knopf (GER).

His video submission for the Red Bull Best Line video contest netted him an extra 300 points for first, which cemented his 2019 Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award.

He will now get to face the likes of former Triple Crown of Slopestyle winner Rogatkin, current Crankworx champion Brett Rheeder and compatriot Tomas Lemoine when the Crankworx season gets underway in March.



Here is what the Vence native had to say about his impressive 2019 season:

First of all, why do they call you ‘The Hulk’?

That nickname is probably because of my size – I’m definitely a big guy.

When did you start riding dirt jumps?

I was a BMX rider for around 16 years and I only really started riding MTB last summer. I love riding dirt jumps and I’m really tall, so MTB was the best option for me.

What were your aims for the 2019 season?

This year was my first real experience in the MTB world, especially slopestyle. I had so much fun. It was hard to do exactly what I wanted during all of the competitions, but now I know what I should work on for the next season. My aim was to get a wildcard, so here we go!



Who has been your biggest bike inspiration?

My biggest inspiration is my Dad. I am where I am today because of him and my family.

What went through your head when you heard you won the 2019 Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award?

I’m so stoked to ride my first FMB World Tour Diamond event. I can’t wait to be there!

You’ll be riding at Crankworx Rotorua against some of the best riders the world has ever seen. How does that make you feel?

It’s definitely scary, but it’s going to be fun to ride with them. I already know a lot of the guys that are riding, so it’s going to be sick to hang out with them in New Zealand.

How important do you think an initiative like the Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award is to riders and the scene as a whole?

It’s definitely a good idea. It’s a chance for kids or new riders to get an invitation to a Diamond event and I hope the Red Bull Rookie of the Year Award will stay in order to help the young riders get some exposure and to get a taste of the highest level.

Any plans for the off-season?

I’m going to ride a lot to get ready for next season. I still have a lot of work to do to be ready for Rotorua.

Looking ahead to the 2020 season, which events are you most looking forward to?

I’m going to ride as many FMB World Tour Gold events as possible and I hope I will get enough points to ride all the Diamond events.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.