Febvre Wants Podiums

Courtesy of Youthstream Media Service Team

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory rider Romain Febvre has been in brilliant form of late. Having been selected for Team France for the October held Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations, the Frenchman knows that he needs to take good form into the biggest event of the year, set for the Redbud circuit in America.

The 2015 MXGP World Champion picked up a 3-2 result in Switzerland nearly two weeks ago, and then backed it up with 4-5 scores in Bulgaria. Now placed fifth in the MXGP championship points, he is just five points behind Tim Gajser in fourth place and will be looking to catch and pass the two-times world champion in the series points after this weekend’s GP in Turkey.

“I feel OK after two back-to-back GPs,” Febvre said. “For me it is better to have the GPs closer together, so I don’t lose the rhythm from racing, so I actually like it. I was happy to stand on the podium in Switzerland, and last weekend in Bulgaria I was happy with my speed and the way I was riding, but my starts were not great and on that kind of track it was tough to past. I finish fourth and fifth in the races, which was not enough for the podium. I am disappointed with that, but it is what it is. I am looking forward to racing in Turkey, my goal remains the same, I want to be on the podium and to close the gap to the third place in the championship. I will do everything I possibly can to achieve this.”


https://www.googletagservices.com/tag/js/gpt.js

var googletag = googletag || {};
googletag.cmd = googletag.cmd || [];

var siteURL = window.location.hostname;
googletag.cmd.push(function() {
googletag.defineSlot(‘/57671086/DigitalThrottle_InPage_Outstream’, [1, 1],’div-gpt-ad-1467074319797-0′)
.addService(googletag.pubads())
.setTargeting(“Site_Domain”, siteURL);
googletag.enableServices();
googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1467074319797-0’);
});

 

As for last weekend, it was a weekend he enjoyed, but starts and trouble with passing riders cost him another podium finish. He knows that getting back on the box in Turkey he will need to improve his starts and is looking forward to this weekend’s event and the unknown of a new circuit in the calendar.

“My weekend started good. I had good speed yesterday, but I missed the starts and this track was very tough to pass on. Everyone’s speed was really close, and it was difficult to make a difference on the other guys. It was very dry with limited line choice. I had a small crash in the second race, and I just tried to give 100% to come back. I am a little bit disappointed with the result, especially for the championship, but I will just look forward to this weekend in Turkey.”

Once Turkey is out of the way, trips to Holland and Italy will give him more chances to impress, before he tries to help France defend the Chamberlain Trophy in America at the start of October. For now though, all his motivation is for a podium in Turkey.

 

Copyright: Photo: Yamaha Racing

Author:
Geoff Meyer

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.