Dakar Rally in quotes

Courtesy of Red Bull Newsroom

Matthias Walkner (AUT) of Red Bull KTM Factory Team and Sam Sunderland (GRB) of Red Bull KTM Factory Team are seen at the podium of Rally Dakar 2017 in Buenos Aires, Argentina on January 14, 2017

Relive Dakar Rally 2017 with the best quotes from the action packed race.

Stage 1
Nasser Al-Attiyah: “We did great to win the stage, but soon after we saw the smoke coming from our car. We caught fire!”
Stage 2
Toby Price: “We had to deal with a lot of animals. It wasn’t a tricky day of navigation but it becomes a difficult day when cows pop up all over the place.”
Stage 3 

Sam Sunderland (GRB) of Red Bull KTM Factory Team is seen at the podium of Rally Dakar 2017 in Buenos Aires, Argentina on January 14, 2017

Sam Sunderland: “I could definitely feel the altitude having an effect when we reached 5,000 metres (above sea level). It’s something that adds to the difficulty but it’s the same for everybody, we’re all in the same boat.”
Stage 4
Matthias Walkner: “The bad thing is that Toby crashed. I stopped with him until they (the medical team) told me that he was not going to be able to continue. Health is the most important thing and I hope that he’s OK.”
Stage 5 

Sebastien Loeb of Team Peugeot TOTAL stage 11 of Rally Dakar 2017 from San Juan to Rio Cuarto, Argentina on January 13, 2017.

Sébastien Loeb: “The rain was very heavy so I guess the organisers made the right decision to cut the stage short. We then had a long liaison but when you have won the stage nothing feels too bad.”
Stage 6
Cancelled due to weather
Rest Day
Sam Sunderland: “I’ve tried to get a bit of rest today. I also went to see Toby (Price) in hospital. He’s a good friend. He was in good spirits and he’s on the road to recovery already.”
Stage 7

Stephane Peterhansel (FRA) of Team Peugeot TOTAL seen after stage 11 of Rally Dakar 2017 from San Juan to Rio Cuarto, Argentina on January 13, 2017.

Stéphane Peterhansel: “The overall classification is still very close, but it’s a really interesting race for everybody, I think. We’re still in the fight and that’s the most important thing.”
Stage 8
Sam Sunderland: “I had no rear brake for the last 100km, which makes things a little bit interesting on a piste like this. It’s kind of WRC-style, very slippery. I had a few moments.”
Stage 9
Cancelled due to weather
Stage 10

Stephane Peterhansel (FRA) of Team Peugeot Total is seen at the podium of Rally Dakar 2017 in Buenos Aires, Argentina on January 14, 2017

Stéphane Peterhansel: “There was a biker in front of me reversing and when he saw me he hit the brakes but we collided. His leg was broken but he was still conscious. After that, it was difficult to drive with a good speed.”
Stage 11

Sebastien Loeb (FRA) of Team Peugeot Total is seen at the podium of Rally Dakar 2017 in Buenos Aires, Argentina on January 14, 2017

Sébastien Loeb: “We won the stage but we wanted more. It’s been a great battle, it was good to fight within seconds. We couldn’t have done more.”
Stage 12 
Stéphane Peterhansel: “We fought really strongly and I am the winner in the end – but it’s a small detail. This is the victory of experience.”
Sam Sunderland: “It’s overwhelming. When I crossed the line, the emotion really took over. We did it, and I couldn’t be any happier. Hopefully we can create some English interest now!”

Ignacio Casale (CHL) of Casale Motorsport is seen at the podium of Rally Dakar 2017 in Buenos Aires, Argentina on January 14, 2017

Ignacio Casale: “Wow, I’m so emotional right now. I’ve had so many ups and downs at the Dakar and this is the best I have felt at the finish line.”
Eduard Nikolaev: “I am overflowing with emotions and I even teared up a bit when we crossed the line.”

Eduard Nikolaev (RUS) of Team KAMAZ-Master is seen at the podium of Rally Dakar 2017 in Buenos Aires, Argentina on January 14, 2017

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.