Jeffrey Herlings Interview

Courtesy of Youthstream Media

Herlings_MXGP_4_TN_2015

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Jeffrey Herlings went into the Grand Prix of Italy looking to get the GP win he missed in Argentina a couple of weeks prior. The Dutchman had a disappointing DNF in the opening moto at the third round in Argentina.

Herlings didn’t get the win though in Italy, instead having to settle for second overall as young Slovenian rider Tim Gajser pulled the surprise victory. Herlings did win the Saturday qualification race and his Sunday score of 1-2 wasn’t too shabby either.

We caught up with the KTM Factory rider and asked him about the disappointment of not winning a GP in Argentina and also Italy.

Q: Jeffrey, after the problems you had in Argentina you must have been happy to win qualifying on Saturday in Italy?

Herlings: I had to stay out of trouble, when I have a good start and stay out of trouble I should win. I had some issues in Argentina obviously with that opening moto crash. On Saturday in Italy my start was good and I felt comfortable and the bike felt good. I knew I needed two solid starts on Sunday to win.

Q: You had a lot to deal with on the Saturday with the weather didn’t you?

Herlings: On Saturday the weather was different, with the rain it is a slippery track, and even worse when it rains. The track looked good though, I was happy with how it looked.

Q: How did you feel on the Sunday?

Herlings: Obviously disappointed not to win, but that is racing. The start was not good in the second race but overall we had a good Sunday. We won the qualifying on Saturday and the first moto pretty easy. I had a really bad start in the second moto but I worked my way up to the front then I had a stupid crash that was my fault. I picked up some points so I look forward to next weekend. I am not sure I would have caught Gajser. For sure I could have been close but obviously he did a great job. Hopefully I can take the win in Valkenswaard in front of my home crowd. I’ve already won there five times in a row. So that’s what we are hoping for.

Q: Now onto your beloved Valkenswaard.

Herlings: Yes, I love that place. I have ridden so many laps there and if I win I get six in a row, which I don’t think has been done before. I go there for the win, but after Argentina and Italy I really need to stay out of trouble and get better starts.

Author:
Geoff Meyer

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.