BOMBER’S SGP COMEBACK IN CARDIFF

Courtesy of Speedway Grand Prix

Chris Harris has been handed the wild card for the Fogo British FIM Speedway Grand Prix at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium on June 1 to see if he can repeat his epic win of 2007.

Harris exploded into the limelight in the Welsh capital six years ago, when he stormed past Aussie great Leigh Adams and triple world champion Jason Crump, before diving under double world champion Greg Hancock on the last bend to win one of the most epic finals in the SGP series’ 18-year history.

The Team Great Britain skipper, who spent six straight seasons as a full-time SGP rider from 2007 to 2012, is determined to steal in-form international colleague Tai Woffinden’s thunder in Cardiff when dons the famous No.16 race jacket.

Woffinden has become the darling of the British fans this season after reaching his maiden Grand Prix final in Bydgoszcz on April 20, which put him fourth in the World Championship standings.

But Bomber is determined to thrust himself back into the limelight on world speedway’s biggest stage.

He said: “Tai is having a fantastic year and looking at what he’s doing, he’s probably the best rider around at the minute. He’s flying and he’s the man. But if I can go there and outshine him at Cardiff, it would be nice and very satisfying, just to show I’m still here and remind people not to forget about me.

“It would be nice to go there and win it. This time around, I go there with no pressure. I’m not in the series and no-one is going to be looking at me as a contender to win it. I’ll go there and enjoy the weekend and hopefully get the best result I can.

“I’m very happy to have been given the call. I’m obviously disappointed not to be in the Grand Prix full-time, but it’s a great honour to be asked for this one. I’d like to thank BSI Speedway and the FIM for giving me the opportunity to get back in it for Cardiff.”

Harris starts in the SGP qualification quarter final at Austrian track St Johann on June 8 and is determined to fight his way through to the GP Challenge at British club Poole on August 24, where the top three riders earn World Championship berths for 2014.

He said: “I definitely want to be back in there for 2014. When I knew I wasn’t in there for this year, my goal was always to get back as soon as possible. I’m working hard, things are going well and I’m taking slow steps. I’m enjoying my racing and I’m feeling good in myself. I’m training hard as well and everything is coming along nicely.”

Harris is joined in Cardiff by track reserves Craig Cook and Josh Auty. Cook, who doubles up with Belle Vue and Edinburgh, wears the No.17 race jacket, while Birmingham and Scunthorpe rider Auty lines up at No.18.

Swedish referee Krister Gardell takes charge of the biggest meeting on the World Championship calendar.

Tickets for the Fogo British FIM Speedway Grand Prix are available from www.speedwaygp.com or www.seetickets.com.

Notes to Editors:
For further information, interviews or photographs, please contact:
Nicola Sands, Marketing & Communications Manager, BSI Speedway
T (direct): +44 (0)208 233 7636 Email: nicola.sands@imgworld.com

BSI Speedway
BSI Speedway is an IMG company and rights holders of the FIM Speedway World Championships
FIM Speedway Grand Prix (SGP) and FIM Speedway World Cup (SWC).

About IMG
IMG Worldwide is a global sports, entertainment and media business, with nearly 3,000 employees operating in 30 countries around the globe. IMG’s areas of expertise are diverse and wide ranging: IMG College; IMG’s Joint Ventures in China, Brazil and India; IMG Media; IMG Events and Federations; IMG Fashion; IMG Models; IMG Art+Commerce; IMG Clients; IMG Academies; IMG Consulting and IMG Licensing. More information is available at www.imgworld.com.